Tavistock Area Schools Cross Country Series 2019

The first cross country event of the 2019 Tavistock Primary Schools series took place in the Meadows on a mild Tuesday afternoon in February.

Year 3/4 girls started the series with Lamorna Cox of St Andrew’s leading the others home. Nell Maguire of Whitchurch was 2nd followed by Hazel Stead of St Peter’s and Florence Riggott and Tamzin Jarman both of Whitchurch. JJ Lake of TAC was the ‘hare’ for these girls.

Jack Beilby (St Peter’s) was first in the boys race, followed by Henry Beck (St Andew’s), Thomas Hennessey (Lamerton), Jamie Simmons (Horrabridge) and Harrison Rowe (St Peter’s). Thanks go to Nicolas Maczugowski, also of TAC who ‘hared’ this race

Top teams after the first event:

– Girls – Whitchurch, St Andrew’s A & Meavy
– Boys – St Peter’s. St Andrew’s A & Horrabridge A

Top School teams:

1st St Andrew’s A
2nd Whitchurch
3rd St Peter’s

The year 5/6 girls’ race was very fast, with guest ‘hare’ Adam Holland leading the girls round the course. Lara Dix of St Peter’s won by some distance, followed by Claudia Jones of Meavy and Orla White of St Peter’s. Niamh Petch and Jenna Mabey of Tavistock came in 4th & 5th.

Fynn Baker of Milton Abbot won the boys race with Cody Harding of Bere Alston, Rory Cox and Dan Lindsay of St Andrew’s and Seb Folland of St Peter’s coming in after him.

Top teams:

– Girls – Tavistock, St Peter’s & Meavy
– Boys – St Andrew’s A, St Andrew’s B & Bere Alston

Top School Teams:

1st St Andrew’s A
2nd St Peter’s
3rd Tavistock

The next set of races will be at Whitchurch Down on Tuesday 26th February.