Cricket – Dartmoor Cup 2018

Image: Okahampton A - Dartmoor Cup winners 2018
Okahampton A, winners of the Dartmoor Cup.

The annual Dartmoor Cup event for West Devon Primary Schools took place before and after the half term break.

The heats at Hatherleigh, Lewdown and Whitchurch took place in sunshine and the finals of the Dartmoor Cup, Shield and Trophy were held at Okehampton College.

The competition is run by OCRA in association with local cricket clubs and with the assistance of Okehampton College young sports leaders, who umpire and score the games.

Image: Horrabridge cricket Team Dartmoor Cup
Horrabridge, winners of the Tavistock heat, Dartmoor Cup cricket

The first heat was held at Whitchurch which Horrabridge A won and runners-up were Tavistock. Hatherleigh winners were Okehampton A with Hatherleigh coming second.

Lewdown had a huge entry of 18 schools with Chagford winning the playoff against South Tawton.

All teams who entered the heats were invited to attend the finals. Their placings decided whether it would be in the cup, shield or trophy.

The sun was still shining at the finals in Okehampton with 31 teams taking part – eight in the cup, 12 in the shield and nine in the trophy.

Image: Young leaders at the Dartmoor CupThe trophy was won by North Tawton C with runners up Horrabridge B. The shield was won by St Andrew’s B with Okehampton B second while Okehampton A lifted the cup after a close game against Chagford A. Both teams qualified to represent West Devon at the county finals in Newton Abbot.